Friday, 31 July 2009

Irish 1911 census further delayed

The National Archives of Ireland announces further delays in the 1911 census, a project in which LAC is heavily involved.

"Future releases of counties will comprise:

1. Limerick, Mayo, Waterford, Armagh, Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Fermanagh, Kildare, Kilkenny and Leitrim;
2. Londonderry (Derry), Longford, Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Queen’s County (Laois), Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Tyrone, Westmeath and Wicklow.

We are anxious to achieve the highest possible degree of accuracy with the transcribed census data, and efforts to ensure this has necessitated a short delay in releasing the next tranches. We now expect to be placing the first listed tranche online by late August, along with corrected data for previously published counties. The second listed tranche should be available at some stage around the middle of September. As before, this will be subject to our being satisfied that the data meets our required levels of accuracy."

Read the full announcement here.


No comments: