30 May 2009

More Irish1911 census counties online

Donegal, Cork, Galway, Wexford and King’s County (Offaly) are now available on the National Archives of Ireland site. Search here.

They comment that "Even though there is still some material missing (in particular, some Irish language returns, and corrections submitted by the public), we have decided to make the material available, in the knowledge that the vast majority of our users will be able to find what they want. Corrections and improvements will be ongoing, and we are very grateful to all users who have submitted corrections to us."

Under future plans they inform that:

"Further tranches of counties will comprise:
1. Limerick, Mayo,Waterford, Armagh, Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Fermanagh, Kildare, Kilkenny and Leitrim;
2. Londonderry (Derry), Longford, Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Queen’s County (Laois), Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Tyrone, Westmeath and Wicklow.

At present, we hope to be placing the first listed tranche online by mid – July, and the second tranche by end -August, but this is subject to our being satisfied that the data meets our required levels of accuracy.

In September, we will be rebuilding the site to include full transcription of all of the data on the household forms for 1911, including religion, occupation, relationship to head of family, literacy status, marital status, county or country of origin, Irish language proficiency, specified illnesses, and child survival information.

1901, with all data transcribed, will be launched towards the end of 2009."

1 comment:

M. Diane Rogers said...

Ah, still watching anxiously for Armagh and Cavan 1911 Irish census returns, then 1901. (IRWINS, MOFFATS, LIVINGSTONES wanted)

Has Library & Archives Canada finished its part in the digitization of the Irish censuses? Perhaps we can have some more Canadian genealogical resources available soon :-)