04 June 2020

OGS Annual Report 2019

The Annual Report of Ontario Ancestors - The Ontario Genealogical Society for the year 2019 was sent to members on Wednesday. In addition to a year in review from Society President, Steve Fulton U.E., it includes reports from Branches and Special Interest Groups related to their activities. 

President Fulton acknowledges the work of volunteers and staff. He highlights formation of a new Special Interest Group (the first in many years), attending a bigger Fergus Scottish Event and "building relationships with valuable partners like the Archives of Ontario, Corporate Genealogical Organizations and other National/Provincial Organizations that make Ontario research important to their patrons - along with corporate partners."

Membership trend and the financial reports were not included and advocacy activities not mentioned.

The word cloud is formed from all words mentioned six or more times in the branch reports. You perhaps notice Facebook which is mentioned 11 times. Digital gets 10 mentions, scan* 8, DNA 7, newspaper 5, YouTube 4, Twitter 2, genetic 2.

Some of the interesting branch membership numbers reported are:

The Bruce and Grey Branch had 283 members in 2019, 43 of which resided in the county, and 1,039 members in its Facebook Group.  
Kent Branch has stable membership and a Facebook group of 500 members. 
Kingston Branch reported over 300 members. 
Lambton Branch had 222.
Simcoe over 200 active members.
London and Middlesex reported steady membership numbers.
Sudbury reported a membership increase to 111 with 600 members of the Facebook Group.

With the approval of a new by-law expanding the Board of Directors it would appear the following candidates for election will compose the Board following the AGM scheduled later in the year owing to the pandemic.

President - Heather McTavish Taylor of Milton, Ontario
Vice-President - Julia Scott of Thornbury, Ontario
Ben Dawson of London, Ontario
Dianna Fulton of St. Catherines, Ontario
Vito Giovanetti of Thornhill, Ontario
Kathryn Lake Hogan of Windsor, Ontario
Heather Oakley of Ottawa, Ontario

The following will continue as Directors

Steve Fulton, UE - Past President (2020-2022)
Ray Wright - Vice-President Finance (2019-2021)
Debbie Tibando - Corporate Secretary (2019-2021)
Joe Wilson (2019-2021)

Outgoing Board Members are
Heidi Deschenes - Vice President 
Patti Mordasewicz - Past President 
Clare Cook Meulbauer

No comments: